Germ phobia, thanks – you?

germy handsI’ve never been one to get too crazed about germs in my environment. I’m usually a big believer in the 5-second rule, and although of course I wash my hands a lot and have learned to sneeze into my sleeve or elbow, I really don’t get worked up.

But lately? I find myself getting rather OCD about germs, particularly on my hands. You see, I ride public transportation, and that means I’m touching railings, poles, hand-grabs – all kinds of surfaces that countless other hands have touched before me. {shudder – you creeping out yet?}

hand-sanitizerSo I carry, and use! hand sanitizer – a lot. Even though I usually am against anti-bacterial soaps and kitchen and bath cleansers – after all, if they “kill 99.9% of germs on contact” that’s still leaving that .1% of them to build resistance and reproduce and become antibiotic-resistant superbugs. But sometimes I’m not near a sink.

Just thinking about it makes me want to go wash up. My palms are starting to tingle…

Thanks, swine flu.

Leave a Reply

