"The Sandbox"

You may have read, in any number of venues, including yesterday’s Doonesbury cartoon strip, that Garry Trudeau has made a new blog space for soldiers and their families to post – pretty much whatever they’re thinking about. It’s a way for the rest of us to get a sense of what life is really like for our military folks. I’ve just read the first half-dozen or so posts, and they are …mind-blowing doesn’t really begin to cover it. I will definitely be bookmarking this site and adding to my list of blogs to read.

One thing that struck me was the fact that no one has commented on any of the posts yet (10/11 – this was at about 11 am EDT yesterday – many comments have been made since then). I really wanted to do so, but then I thought, what can I say that’s anything but inadequate, inane, stupid, whatever? Maybe that’s what other people are thinking too. And yet, I’d like the bloggers to know people are indeed reading what they’re writing. Because if no one comments, perhaps those soldiers and families will just feel like no one’s really noticing, caring that they’re there, sending them prayers and thoughts. I hope not. Maybe I’ll just go add a pointer to this post, so someone knows.

Thanks for sharing yourselves, everyone. It is very moving. Hope everyone stays safe.

One thought on “"The Sandbox"

  1. Howdy,
    I didn’t know you had a website! I’m definitely going to investigate that soldier blog space. I just finished reading “Fiasco” by Tom Ricks. the frustrating thing is, some commanders etc. have done some really wonderful things (really reaching out to and helping the Iraqi citizens, getting to know them and befriend them, etc.)…but then their tour of duty ends and some random other commander takes over and undoes it all by being insensitive and harsh. Also it seems like theres a lot of frustration about the contractor security guards, who tend to be “cowboys”–basically running roughshod through town, interested only in protecting their assigned protectee and not sensitive to the impression of Americans they’re leaving in their wake. Since they’re contractors, they’re not subject to discipline or control. What a mess. Excellent book, by the way. If you want to borrow it, let me know.

Leave a Reply

