What to Read Next… if you, or someone in your life, are 5(ish) – or even if not!

One of my very fave bloggers, The Bloggess, also lives at the Houston Chronicle’s Good Mom/Bad Mom blog. She posted a request to her readers the other day to recommend books her 5-year-old daughter and she might enjoy together.

So, here’s the thing about Jenny. EVERYONE loves her. Really. So, when she asks a question, she gets the most wonderful answers and comments. As an inveterate and life-long reader I was truly overwhelmed with the wide-ranging and enchanting selection of books Jenny’s commenters suggested.

I’m going to start up a new TBR library list from the comments. I’m wracking my brain trying to think of situations in which I could volunteer to read to kids, just for the joy of getting to read these books myself, both those I know and the ones I don’t, and for the delight of sharing them. I don’t have any littles in my life at the moment :-(  I wonder about homeless shelters for families, for instance… Any other suggestions??

About these ads

About Gurukarm

Thoughts. Ideas. Musings...
This entry was posted in gratitude and grace, Movies and Books and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What to Read Next… if you, or someone in your life, are 5(ish) – or even if not!

  1. Bridgit says:

    As a stepmom of a 5-year-old son, we LOVE to read books. Neither one of us can go to bed without reading a bedtime story together. Reading to kids is one of the easiest ways to bond with them while secretly providing them with valuable benefits to their overall well-being. Contact your local coffee shops, day cares and libraries to see if they have a children’s story time. Places like that are always looking for eager volunteers with friendly voices to read to children.

  2. Bridgit, thanks for those suggestions. You really need to check out all the list on that post, there are so many you and your son will just LOVE :-)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s